Thinking Out Loud

by

I have been thinking about our random distribution of booze, also knows as the kfil regular season pool. Not a real fan of the randomness so I have an idea.

The Yahoo Bowl Pickem is a very fun thing we do each season end, and I was thinking about moving that into our regular season. We have choices.

Pick winners only.
Pick winners plus confidence points.
Pick winners against the spread.
Pick winners against the spread with confidence points.

I understand that it is tough for everyone to get picks in every week due to vacation, work or whatever, but if we did this, it might give us a rooting interest for or against a team, besides our usual hatred.

The prizes would have also be randomly chosen at the end of the year, as it is tough to make a “grand prize” when it will be for sure that most will miss a week or two here and there.

We could always use the full rack as a standard prize and dumb it down, or maybe we could keep a tally of who won what week and divvy up the booze from there. We could play for a sixer a week and keep a running tally and settle up at the end of the year but that could get expen$ive with shipping. Or we could play for maybe a three pack a week? Just shitting out thoughts at this point.

So, what do you guys think? Any other better ideas?

17 Responses to “Thinking Out Loud”

  1. Sk8 Says:

    LOVE IT! Honestly, while I would have continued to participate in the pool, I have been frustrated with the complete and total randomness with the regular season. You might have well just kicked me in the balls and taken half the money out of my wallet at the beginning of the season and just called it good.

    The last 2 seasons for Oregon have been quite good, yet in the regular season, the structure of the regular season CFB competition is without meaning or a real competition. I really like the nature of the post season bowl pool, however.

    So with that in mind, and your suggestions above, I propose:

    1. Top Ten CFB ranked teams + confidence points
    2. Payoff every 3 weeks to the winner (from the loser, or all, up for debate)

    No Spread, Its not Vegas. I don’t want to do top 20 or 25, cause I don’t have the time, and above top 10 is so fluid throughout the season. a

    Q: Can Yahoo support this in the manner of the CFB pool?

    I’m in, but I like where your going with this. Over to the others for thoughts.

    • dfm Says:

      Don’t know if Yahoo can do just the top ten (I doubt it), doesn’t matter yet, we are in the info gathering stage anyway. How to do the prizes are the toughest part to me.

      • Sk8 Says:

        We could only make picks on the top 10 and leave the rest blank or their default setting as a fix.

        • dfm Says:

          If we only do the top ten, we would have to do it against the spread or there would be too many ties. Not liking that.

          • Sk8 Says:

            I’m fine with that, I just want to make the list of picks for any given week relatively short. And I usually know the trend of the top ten, so it wouldn’t take that much time & effort to add the spread.

  2. dfm Says:

    I nuked a couple of comments from sk8, want to keep this thread on track for pool thoughts. Back to normal bullshit tomorrow.

  3. dfm Says:

    I don’t think we will mess with the bowl pool at all, with picks and confidence points, that seems to be a huge winner to me.

  4. johnnyj Says:

    I wanted to do the yahoo pickem last year but dfm nixed it. Glad he’s in now!

    I’m all for it, it’s a real competition then…

    Although, I’m not for mailing booze every 3 weeks. Screw that, I friggin hate going to the post office, it is a major pain in the ass.

    We need to research the pickem options—top 10 sounds good but I’d be game for the top 20 or 25…I’m for winners with confidence(straight up), screw that spread BS…

    • johnnyj Says:

      Yeah— DUH—-keep a running tally, winner (most points I imagine) wins ALL THE BOOZE at the end of the regular season…Standard bet is 288 ounces of good beer or some really good hooch—

  5. johnnyj Says:

    …Whatever you suckas decide, you know I’m in…

  6. johnnyj Says:

    Speaking of post office:

    TD, my awesome and lovely wife will swing by there and mail your winnings tomorrow—-usually she makes me mail booze to you guys by myself (understandable)… Should arrive by the end of the week…

    Also, the mormon mailed your winnings yesterday too so you should have a pretty wide selection of beverages for this weekend.

    Too bad there’s no football on!

  7. dfm Says:

    I am with you rr, we need to mail shit every week like a hole in the head (although this is truly part of the payment). Just floating shit out there right now but in general it seems like at least the three of us are on the same page.

    Did I really nuke the Yahoo pickem last year? Oh well I have done dumber things.

    • johnnyj Says:

      Yep, I suggestd it and you didn’t think it would work due to work, vacations etc…

      Well, I say tough titty if you don’t get your picks in. Everybody has access to a computer or has an iphone…

    • Sk8 Says:

      Just need TD and Alstro buy in now.

      Sounds like we have now:

      On Yahoo Pickem (if we can)
      Top 20-25, with confidence points
      No Spread
      Cumulative over some period of time
      TBD on payout date/time

  8. johnnyj Says:

    Blah ha ha, I knew it! Ok, I have a confession, I’m a Tim Mcgraw fan, call me a pussy I guess… Anywho, his new album JUST came out TODAY and there’s a song called “Touchdown Jesus.”
    Naturally, I thought Notre Dame and/or Timmmah Teblow so I went to the UTuber just to check—and low and behold, it’s posted already…
    Timmah singing about Timmah, people take this shit seriously!

Leave a Reply

